The South9
The news is by your side.
after image

BJP step backward to boost JSP in Tirupati By election

post top

BJP step backward to boost JSP in Tirupati By election

Post Inner vinod found

By-election in Tirupati Lok Sabha seat will be held in few days. BJP considers this election to be the foundation of BJP-Jana Sena alliance which it hopes to form government in Andhra Pradesh in 2024 Assembly election.
The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has named four-time MP and former Union Minister Panabaka Lakshmi as its candidate for the seat. The YSR Congress Party is fielding Dr. Maddila Guru Murthy a native of yerpedu mandal in srikalahasti assembly segment and a physiotherapist by profession. RPI has named a senior journalist Manapati Chakravathy who have served the poor and helped the needy.
However, BJP is yet to field its candidate for the upcoming Tirupati Lok Sabha By election. In recent time there is a rumour that BJP would step-backward and give chance to JSP.
Further observed that a single community (Balija), which BJP-JSP is counting on for votes, may not be enough for a larger electoral consolidation to win in Tirupati, which is geographically located in Rayalaseema region in Andhra Pradesh. Incidentally, Rayalaseema, especially in Tirupati, is known for its considerable population of Balijas, a sub-caste in Kapu community.
In 2019 elections, YSRCP bagged 23 MP seats out of 25, including Tirupati. YSRCP got over 55% vote share In Tirupati, while TDP’s Panabaka Lakshmi got over 37% vote share. BJP, at the time, got 1.22% vote share while Congress got 1.83%, and NOTA recorded a vote percentage of 1.96%.
In the upcoming by-elections, it has to be seen whether the combination of BJP’s and JSP would fetch votes in Tirupati. Pawan Kalyan’s party is yet to declare whether it would field their candidate or whether it will support BJP, like how it did in GHMC elections. Ahead of the GHMC election in December this year, JSP announced its candidates for the civic polls. However, the next day, the party asked its candidates to withdraw as they decided to support the BJP for “larger interests”.                                                                                                                                       P. Lalitha                                                Vijayawada correspondent

Post midle

Comments are closed.